Welcome to my blog, Woodworking Expo.

I have worked in the woodworking industry for the past 40 years. During that time I have been exposed to a lot of different woodworking machines and techniques and have grown to love woodworking. I have also been a hobby woodworker for all of those years although I haven’t had the opportunity to pursue this part of woodworking as much as I would have liked because of the time constraints forced on me by my career in the industry and my lack of an adequate place to pursue it such as a well equipped home work shop. Nevertheless, I have never lost my love or enthusiasm for this fascinating hobby nor the appreciation for the beautiful furniture and crafts that are produced by those who are engaged in it.

My career has also been a rewarding one and has allowed me the opportunity to gain knowledge in other industrial related pursuits besides woodworking such as engineering, electromechanical maintenance, electromechanical controls, machine work and design, and other fields of talent that will generally be used in a productive industrial woodworking facility on a daily basis. Fortunately, most of these talents are also compatible with an an active hobby woodworking career and can be used to enhance it since the woodworker is invariably engaged with the use of hand and power tools and all sorts of woodworking machinery and in some cases even designs, modifies, and makes these for himself.

My shortcomings arise from not having had the opportunity to develop my woodworking skills to the potential that I am capable of and the level where I want them to be. Woodworking is a hobby where one’s skill is usually commensurate¬† with the time to which he is able to devote himself to it. Practice makes perfect is an easily understood phrase and generally rings true. Nevertheless, I am able to build jigs and fixtures, kitchen cabinets, bookcases, and furniture to an adequate skill level that would allow me to support myself financially in woodworking even if not to the level that I might desire. However, that is not what I am after. At this point in my life I want to increase my skill level to the point where I can make furniture and other wood crafts that are not only beautiful but are also well designed and made. At least for the first time in my life I have enough free time to at least make a reasonable attempt at pursuing this goal. With this blog I will attempt to document this effort.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Welcome to my blog, Woodworking Expo.

  1. Rick Goff says:

    I too have pursued the illusive wood worker image that lurks in the back of my mind. After about 20 years of wood working I have come to the conclusion that as far as I’m concerned that person does not exist. I have not been able to persue my passion with the time and vigor you mentioned either and maybe thats why. At this point in time I can only construct items that make me happy and no one else and I guess it will stay that way .This by no means says that I will be laying down my tools anytime soon quite the contrairy Now I find myself pursueing it even harder. What I would like to have happen is 100 years from now some one looking at something I built and saying they sure don’t build em like that anymore. That to me would be a legacy………………………dr.rock

  2. rivergirl says:

    Hey- I just found your blog! I think you are a pretty fine woodworker-you have a multitude of talents. You just need to retire from that day job so you can have the time and energy required to build what you want to build in your increased amounts of spare time. :)

  3. Dennis says:

    Hi, you mention on lumberjocks about my blog on native flutes, if you need any help in build a flute let me know.
    dhhepler@gmail.com

    Dennis

  4. Thomas Tieffenbacher says:

    Saw your comments on Kiefer on LJ’s and hit that adress. got to this place. Nice set of tools. Do you do hand work or integrate it with power tools?

    Had a delusion of creating some contemporary furniture for a living. Just about the time of the housing and disposable income dissapeared. LOL! had to go back to my vocation, but as time allows I am pursuing the goal an inch at a time.

  5. dbray45 says:

    Something that you touch on that is significant. There is a substantial difference between being in the industry and and doing this as a hobby. Doing woodworking in a production environment is a completely different set of rules. The tools are different, you make what the customer specifies, in the timeframe that the customer requires, even the finishes can be different – two different worlds. As a hobby, you can take more time, if you make a mistake there is time and more wood to repair or replace, there is more “you” in the project. There are very few people that are really successful at selling what they want to make, like Sam Maloof. The main things are to enjoy the hobby, have fun, but think twice before quiting your day job and doing this as a living.

  6. kevin costa says:

    saw your note on my Lumberjock project. I’m fairly new to woodworking only about four years so everything is new to me. Old hand tools are incredible. I can turn out much better work with them. So thanks for the comment.
    theoldfart

  7. Tim says:

    You put it in words only someone with a real passion for could do. I know I couldn’t have said it better myself.I too now have the time and desire to take this love for the wood to the next level.
    Good luck and who knows, maybe down the road we’ll get to chat again.

  8. Ezekiel says:

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Cheers

  9. bayourouge says:

    This is great site. It shows you love woodworking. I am a retired engineer that is loving woodworking also and a fellow LJ. Saw you comments to some of my projects and this link.
    Hope you enjoy yourself to the max.
    Cajun Don from Louisiana.

  10. DocSavage45 says:

    Wow,

    It’s about a year since I responded to your blog…LOL! Thinking again about quitting my professional job. Have moved forward on my shop and tool assembly. Still no furniture. Trying to think it through vs. what I feel. Really need product to sell, or need to create. right now it’s the same.

Leave a Reply

